Free original album to feature ten of Japan’s best game composers

GMO can exclusively announce that a brand new original album, Imported Game Music (I.G.M.), will be released on Bandcamp next month. Intended to popularise Japanese game music elsewhere in the world, the album consists of twelve original compositions from composers in Japan styles, all with a distinct electronic style.

There are ten top game artists featured in the album, among them our interviewees Hideyuki Fukasawa (Street Fighter IV), Tenpei Sato (Disgaea), Yuu Miyake (Katamari Damacy), and Go Sato (Raiden), as well as the composers of the Street Fighter, Lumines, Metal Gear, and Yakuza franchises. In addition, there are two tracks from non-game composers, namely band member Tomoaki Oga from the band DEIDARA and game designer Akira Ueda. The full track listings are below:


1. Tenpei Sato – Monsters Dream
2. eicheph (Hideyuki Fukasawa) – Fists
3. Go Sato – Sky High Elation
4. Dr. COVA (Hideaki Kobayashi) – Cleome
5. Takayuki Nakamura – Flash Memory
6. Yu Shimoda – Sennichimae-Indian
7. Jupiter-B (Hirokazu Koshio) – Flow and Discipline
8. Takahiro Izutani – Scramble
9. Marusho (Hidenori Shoji) – Marusho Service
10. Yuu Miyake (MIYAKEYUU STUDIO) – 140430MachikoroRemix
11. Akira Ueda – Two Chord (bonus track)
12. DEIDARA (Tomoaki Oga) – 1264-2years (bonus track)

Produced by Kevin Pescoran, the album is professionally-mastered and features beautiful artwork. The album will be available to download next month. Stay tuned for more information and coverage.

Posted on November 1, 2014 by Chris Greening. Last modified on November 1, 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

4 Responses to Free original album to feature ten of Japan’s best game composers

  1. Thanks for the heads up on this. Can’t wait to hear it!

  2. eduhunter says:

    I was listening to Akira Ueda soundcloud last week. Glad to see he’ll be in this album too.

  3. His track was definitely one of my favourites. Great to see a game designer make a composition for such a production.

  4. Don Kotowski says:

    I haven’t listened to the whole album yet, but I love the Tenpei Sato track. It’s giving me Schell Bullet vibes.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :