Civilization: Beyond Earth score receives bundle and commercial release

Firaxis’ Civilization: Beyond Earth was released yesterday to a strong critical reception. The game features a boundless orchestral score recorded with the FILMharmonic Orchestra Prague. The music was principally written by a trio of current and former Firaxis composers, Geoff Knorr, Griffin Cohen, and Michael Curran, with guest contributions from Viva Pinata‘s Grant Kirkhope.

Knorr has prepared a 167 minute, 42 track soundtrack featuring the game’s orchestral score. 2K Games have revealed that everybody who purchases the game will receive a copy of the soundtrack. In addition, for those purely interested in the music, the soundtrack can be purchased separately for 9 USD through digital retailers such as Amazon.

This is the first time that Firaxis have released a stand-alone soundtrack for their titles. Their previous scores for the Civilization and XCOM series have, until now, remained exclusive to the special edition versions of the games. Let’s hope they might now consider releasing the excellent scores for Civilization V on a stand-alone basis too.

Posted on October 26, 2014 by Chris Greening. Last modified on October 26, 2014.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :