Tribute album American Pixels now available on Bandcamp

We reported last year that veteran arranger Christopher Getman (aka Mazedude) was crowdfunding an album tributing American video game music. The soundtrack is now available as a digital download on Bandcamp ahead of its CD release later in the year. Honouring 14 composers and featuring 9 guest soloists, the album adapts from all sorts of sources: classic adventures, modern blockbusters, and even a few indie games. It features the following tracks:

1. Dragonborn Concerto (from Jeremy Soule’s “The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim”)
2. Liquid Tribes (from Jimmy Hinson’s “Puzzlejuice”)
3. Aurelia for Trombone (from Tommy Tallarico’s “Advent Rising”)
4. Switch Force Ballad (from Jake Kaufman’s “Mighty Switch Force 2”)
5. Agent Sprawl (from Jason Graves’ “Dead Space 2”)
6. Purple Streets (from Jared Emerson-Johnson’s “Sam and Max Season One”)
7. Maniac Muzak (from George Sanger’s “Maniac Mansion”)
8. Metropolis for Guitar (from Gerard Marino’s “DC Universe Online”)
9. Angelhenge (from Peter McConnell’s “Brutal Legend”)
10. Primal Clayface (from Ron Fish’s “Batman: Arkham City”)
11. Bernard Electric (from Dave Govett’s “Maniac Mansion”)
12. Transponder Mission (from Jack Wall’s “Mass Effect 2”)
13. Big Sister Matti (from Garry Schyman’s “Bioshock 2”)
14. Tristram in Flames (from Matt Uelmen’s “Diablo”)

Getman said the following about the album: “Game music, more so than music from most other mediums, just lends itself to incredible possibilities of interpretation and re-imagination. With this album, I attempt to take this concept to a new level, while at the same time honoring American game composers. Over the course of these 14 tracks, you’ll hear live soloists mix with electronics, tracks that were originally composed for full orchestra and choir reduced to square waves, oldschool NES tracks brought to life via acid jazz, and much more.”

Posted on January 15, 2017 by Chris Greening. Last modified on January 15, 2017.

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :