Three all-star arranged albums to celebrate a decade of Monster Hunter

On October 1, Capcom will celebrate the tenth anniversary of its wildly successful Monster Hunter series by releasing three arranged albums. The arrangers and track listings for two of these albums have been revealed by Capcom. We have translated and summarised the information below.

Monster Hunter 10th Anniversary Self Cover Album

In this album, composers from across the series’ history will return to arrange their own works from the series and provide fresh new perspectives on them. They include present Capcom artists Tadayoshi Makino, Miwako Chinone, Reo Uratani, and Akihiko Narita, as well as freelance artists such as Yuko Komiyama, Hideyuki Fukasawa, Masato Kouda, and Tetsuya Shibata.

01 Fangs Lurking on the Surface of Ice ~ Zaboazagiru [Monster Hunter 4] (Arranged by Miwako Chinone)
02 Life Burning in the Storm [Monster Hunter Portable 3rd] (Arranged by Reo Uratani)
03 The Subzero White Knight ~ Barioth [Monster Hunter 3] (Arranged by Tadayoshi Makino)
04 To One with Life [Monster Hunter 3] (Arranged by Yuko Komiyama)
05 Theme of the Village, Theme of the Farm [Mon Han Nikki] (Arranged by Yuji Takenouchi)
06 Absolute Zero ~ Ukanlos [Monster Hunter Portable 3rd] (Arranged by Tadayoshi Makino)
07 Legend of an Unexplored Land [Monster Hunter Freedom Unite] (Arranged by Hideyuki Fukasawa)
08 Theme of Pokke Village [Monster Hunter Freedom] (Arranged by Akihiko Narita)
09 Awakening [Monster Hunter] (Arranged by Tetsuya Shibata)
10 Proof of a Hero [Monster Hunter] (Arranged by Masato Kouda)


Monster Hunter 10th Anniversary Tribute Album

In this work, legendary composers from outside Capcom will commemorate the series’ musical influence . The album will feature veterans from the arranged album scene, for example Motoi Sakuraba, Kenji Ito, Hiroki Kikuta, and Yuzo Koshiro, along with a few surprising names such as Pokemon veterans Hirokazu Tanaka and Shota Kageyama, SEGA’s Hiroshi Kawaguchi, and Taito’s Shohei Tsuchiya. Though the album will reflect the worldly orchestral roots of the series, early samples indicate it will nevertheless span a wide range of styles.

01 Wind of Departure [Monster Hunter 4] (Arranged by Michiko Naruke)
02 A Village Swaying in the Wind ~ Shinato [Monster Hunter 4] (Arranged by Hiroki Kikuta)
03 Reincarnation of Light and Darkness ~ Shagaru Magara [Monster Hunter 4] (Arranged by Michiru Yamane)
04 Brave Icon ~ Brachydios [Monster Hunter 4] (Arranged by Hirokazu Tanaka)
05 Sparkling Blue Light ~ Zinogre, Tremble of the Sea and Land ~ Lagiacrus [Monster Hunter Portable 3rd, Monster Hunter 3] (Arranged by Shota Kageyama)
06 Intercepting the Great Gong [Monster Hunter 3] (Arranged by Motoi Sakuraba)
07 Red Afterglow Running in the Darkness ~ Nargacuga [Monster Hunter Freedom Unite] (Arranged by Hiroshi Kawaguchi)
08 Raging Fangs of the Beast ~ Tigrex [Monster Hunter Freedom 2] (Arranged by Kenji Ito)
09 Illusion of the Dense Forest ~ Oonazumi [Monster Hunter Freedom] (Arranged by Shohei Tsuchiya)
10 Proof of a Hero [Monster Hunter] (Arranged by Yuzo Koshiro)

Monster Hunter Disco Remix

In addition, Capcom will release a disco/funk remix album on the same day. The arrangers and track listings have yet to be announced. Look out for further details next month.

Posted on August 2, 2014 by Chris Greening. Last modified on August 2, 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :