Hauntingly beautiful score released for indie title Fossil Echo

Indie game composer and Materia Collective member John Robert Matz has released his latest soundtrack on Bandcamp and other digital retailers. Capturing a world that is simultaneously haunting, beautiful, and dangerous, the score blends cinematic hybrid soundscapes with breathtaking performances from soloists such as violinist Michaela Nachtigall. The 27-track, 64-minute score can be streamed below and purchased for 8 USD.

On releasing the score, Matz said “Fossil Echo was an absolutely wonderful world to get to score; a beautifully hand-drawn 2D world, a mysterious setting with absolutely breathtaking set pieces, and a moving story that gave me the opportunity to craft a musical arc to parallel and comment on the unfolding drama.  It’s the sort of thing composers dream of, and it’s been so long in the making.  I’m incredibly proud to finally be able to share it with you all.”

Posted on August 5, 2016 by Chris Greening. Last modified on August 5, 2016.

Tags: , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com