Distant Worlds concert series to receive its third video recording

On January 22 & 23, 2015, long-running orchestral tour Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy celebrated its 100th concert with two special performances at the Tokyo International Forum Hall. Conducted by tour director Arnie Roth, the concert featured 19 performances of series’ favourites by the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra and solo performances from series’ vocalists Emiko Shiratori and Susan Calloway.

Square Enix have announced that they will release a Blu-ray featuring a complete video recording of the concert, Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy The Journey of 100. The multi-angle video recording will synchronise performances from the Tokyo Philharmonic with in-game footage.


This is the series’ third video recording, following the 2011 DVD Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy Returning Home and the 2013 Blu-ray Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy The Celebration. This recording generally retreads familiar territory, but does include some new additions to the tour such as the two-part Final Fantasy VI ending theme that also featured in the series’ latest album. The full track listings are below:

1. Prelude [Final Fantasy series]
2. Liberi Fatali [Final Fantasy VIII]
3. Victory Fanfare [Final Fantasy series]
4. Reviving Green (Ending Theme) [Final Fantasy VI]
5. FFVII Main Theme [Final Fantasy VII]
6. Kiss Me Good-Bye [Final Fantasy XII]
7. Rose Of May [Final Fantasy IX]
8. Character Theme Medley [Final Fantasy VI]
9. Balamb GARDEN ~ Ami [Final Fantasy VIII]
10. Fabula Nova Crystallis [Final Fantasy XIII]
11. One Winged Angel [Final Fantasy VII]
12. The Sending [Final Fantasy X]
13. Zanarkand [Final Fantasy X]
14. Torn from the Heavens [Final Fantasy XIV]
15. The Place I’ll Return to Someday ~ Melodies Of Life [Final Fantasy IX]
16. Swing de Chocobo [Final Fantasy series]
17. Battle Medley 2012 [Final Fantasy I ~ XIV]
18. Final Fantasy [Final Fantasy series]
19. JENOVA Absolute [Final Fantasy VII]

Available on August 19, the Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy The Journey of 100 Blu-ray will retail for 6696 JPY (~53 USD).

Posted on May 28, 2015 by Chris Greening. Last modified on May 28, 2015.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com