Composer, music and soundtrack details revealed for Resident Evil 7: biohazard

Sumthing Else Music Works announced today that they will publish the Resident Evil 7 -biohazard- Original Soundtrack. The two and a half hour digital soundtrack, penned by an East meets West music team, will be released with the game on January 24.


Listeners can get a taste of what the score will offer from the 30-second previews on the soundtrack’s webpage. As with the game, the soundtrack looks set to return the series to its roots. The previews suggest the score will abandon the critically panned blockbuster stylings of Resident Evil 6 in favour of haunting piano explorations reminiscent of Resident Evil 2 and dark ambient soundscapes recalling Resident Evil 4.

As with most of their productions, Capcom’s internal sound team were responsible for the majority of Resident Evil 7: biohazard‘s music. The lead composer of the title is Akiyuki Morimoto, a relative unknown with minor credits on the Resident Evil, Monster Hunter, and Lost Planet series. Miwako Chinone (Monster Hunter 4, Monster Hunter Explore) and newcomer Satoshi Hori (Tsukuren H, Tsukuren V) also composed large shares of the tracks.

Capcom also brought in some western talents to supplement the soundtrack. Prolific Hollywood composer Cris Velasco (God of War, Borderlands) handled a suite of tracks, while Brian D’Oliviera (Papa & Yo, Tearaway) was also brought onboard. The soundtrack is headlined by the theme song “Go Tell Aunt Rhody”. This horrifying mashup of horror and country elements, based on a old folk song, was penned by Michael A. Levine. It premiered in the gameplay trailer below.

It has yet to be announced whether the soundtrack will also be published on CD. Precedent suggests a physical release from Capcom is likely, given they have brought the music of all of the major titles in the series to CD. It has also been revealed that Japanese customers who purchase the complete or limited edition versions of the game through e-Capcom will be given a bonus CD featuring five arrange versions of “Go Tell Aunt Rhody”.


Posted on January 11, 2017 by Chris Greening. Last modified on January 11, 2017.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :