Overdrive Hell 14 -Hizumi Heaven The Godfarmer Part 1-

odh14 disc image Album Title:
Overdrive Hell 14 -Hizumi Heaven The Godfarmer Part 1-
Record Label:
Troubadour Record
Catalog No.:
Release Date:
April 27, 2014
Buy at Sweep Record


overdrive hell 14: Hizumi Heaven The Godfarmer Part1 is the fourteenth iteration in a series of hardcore and experimental electronic EPs featuring Ayako Saso and Shinji Hosoe. In addition, a new composer, who has yet to be identified, returns to the fray. While not for everyone, it does feature some interesting music for those fans of this style of electronic music. All of the themes on this album seem to feature track titles inspired by the classic mob film, The Godfather Part1. How does this album compare to the previous entries in the ongoing series?


The album opens up with “Lesson.59 luca & fish” and features an extremely intense opening full of energy. In addition, there are also sections that feature a much slower tempo with heavy beats and some glitch, distorted electronic portions that really make the track a bit more accessible for those who prefer slightly slower tempos. In the end, it’s a nice blend of fast and slow tempos that really manage to create a ton of energy. “Lesson.60 Clemenza’s Meatballs” continues the onslaught in terms of BPM, but at the same time, it incorporates some brassy elements by incorporating some horn synth. It isn’t the best horn synth and I think it feels out of place amongst the rest of the song. However, the jazzy flute and piano that is incorporated into the piece does work, especially during the constantly accelerating portions of the piece.

“Lesson.61 bodiless bloody Horse” features a hard dance beat and is definitely one of the more accessible pieces on the album for this reason. There is also a lot of electronic distortion featured in this piece giving it a very glitchy soundscape. Although there are moments when the beats get a bit more intense, they aren’t nearly as prominent as in the other songs; however, they do bring a lot of power into the mix as well, particularly during the chaotic vocal sampling section heard in the piece. My favorite piece on the album is definitely “Lesson.62 Tractor is Dead.” Unexpectedly, it opens up with a fantastic electronic guitar line that gives it a bit of a sinister side, but also a melodic one, leading me to believe this is composed by the mystery SamplingMaster. The mix of hardcore and hard dance beats with the guitar and synthesizer really lends for a great listen, especially for fans of this style. Lastly, “Lesson.63 High BPM Can’t Refuse” is another crazy hardcore track with an extremely fast tempo. As such, it doesn’t really deviate or create any truly standout moments, but it closes the album with a bang.


This album is definitely not for the faint of heart. Fans of hardcore and experimental music may enjoy this album, particularly if they have been following the series. However, for those interested in this, it may be best to try to listen to some of Ayako Saso and Shinji Hosoe’s more hardcore music to get a feeling for the nature of this album. Compared to some of the previous entries, I’d say this par for the course for the series with a mix of tunes that are more accessible, especially the tunes that are less BPM intensive, and some that aren’t as accessible.

Overdrive Hell 14 -Hizumi Heaven The Godfarmer Part 1- Don Kotowski

Do you agree with the review and score? Let us know in the comments below!


Posted on June 17, 2014 by Don Kotowski. Last modified on January 17, 2016.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Currently residing in Philadelphia. I spend my days working in vaccine characterization and dedicate some of my spare time in the evening to the vast world of video game music, both reviewing soundtracks as well as maintaining relationships with composers overseas in Europe and in Japan.

4 Responses to Overdrive Hell 14 -Hizumi Heaven The Godfarmer Part 1-

  1. In my opinion, it’s time Hosoe and Saso left this series behind and focus on something their long-term fans really want: Sampling Masters 5 and Julianna’s Tsunashima Fake Discotheque Vol. 2.

  2. Don Kotowski says:

    I would definitely appreciate Sampling Masters 5 as well as Julianna’s Tsunashima Discotheque Vol. 2, especially the latter considering they held a live event by that name in 2012 or 2013 I believe.

  3. Yeah, I remember reading that. It’s long overview and the original album was one of my favourites from them.

  4. By long overview, I meant to say long overdue. Haha!

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com