New compositions featured in Final Fantasy XII remaster soundtrack

On July 11, Square Enix will release a high-definition remaster of Final Fantasy XII: International for the PlayStation 4, entitled Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age. For the title, composer Hitoshi Sakimoto re-recorded the game’s soundtrack with high-quality instrument samples/performances and in 7.1 surround sound. In addition, he composed some entirely new compositions. On July 19, Square Enix will commercially release the game’s score on Blu-ray as the Final Fantasy XII -The Zodiac Age- Original Soundtrack

The newly released track listings for the soundtrack reveals that it features 99 main tracks. The majority are arrangements from the original Final Fantasy XII soundtrack. There are also eight new compositions: “Lying in Wait”, “The Guardians”, “Tchita Uplands”, “Gloom”, “Memories Eternal”, “The Ultimate Trial”, and “The Zodiac Age”. There are several omissions from the original game’s soundtrack, with “Kiss Me Good-Bye” and “Symphonic Poem Hope” among the absent. A bonus track will be announced in coming weeks.

The soundtrack will be released in two versions, a regular edition (5000 JPY) and a limited edition (6000 JPY). The limited edition features an arranged album CD featuring brand new arrangements of fan favourites from the soundtrack. Produced by Sakimoto himself, the album features renditions of “The Zodiac Age”, “The Barheim Passage”, “The Archadian Empire”, “Training in the Sewers”, “Ashe’s Theme”, and “The Dalmasca Estersand”. The arrangers and arrangement style remain to be announced.

Posted on May 6, 2017 by Chris Greening. Last modified on May 7, 2017.

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

2 Responses to New compositions featured in Final Fantasy XII remaster soundtrack

  1. Terry says:

    The article says eight new compositions but lists only seven.

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :