Kaufman and Matsumae’s Shovel Knight soundtrack and remixes released

Yacht Club Games’ released the Kickstarted-funded retro-inspired action platformer Shovel Knight to enormous critical acclaim yesterday. The game features an authentic chiptune soundtrack composed by Jake Kaufman in NSF format. He used freely available hobbyist tools to write the soundtrack and program all the sound effects, resulting in over two hours of music that can actually be played on a real NES console. It also features two stage themes penned by Mega Man‘s Manami Matsumae.

Concurrent with the release of the game, Kaufman has released the albums Shovel Knight Original Soundtrack and the Strike the Earth -Shovel Knight Arranged- on Bandcamp. The latter features twelve remixes from names such as Jeff Ball, Monomirror, coda, and SnappleMan, as well as Kaufman and Matsumae themselves. What’s more, both of these albums are available on a name-your-price basis.

Posted on June 28, 2014 by Chris Greening. Last modified on June 28, 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

One Response to Kaufman and Matsumae’s Shovel Knight soundtrack and remixes released

  1. ChucklesProduction says:

    Neat! By the way, what were the two tracks written by Matsumae?

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com