Final Symphony digital album being recorded with London Symphony

In early 2015, X5 Music Group will digitally publish a studio recording of the award-winning Final Fantasy concert series Final Symphony. The Final Symphony album will be completely recorded, mixed and mastered at London’s legendary Abbey Road Studios, with Nobuo Uematsu on hand to personally supervise the album’s production. The recording will be performed by the London Symphony Orchestra under the baton of conductor Eckehard Stier and will also feature solo pianist Katharina Treutler.


Final Symphony is an officially licensed series of concerts produced by Thomas Boecker (Symphonic Fantasies, Symphonic Shades). Written in the style of a classical symphony, the concert features full-length movements dedicated to the video games Final Fantasy VI, VII and X, with exclusive arrangements penned by Masashi Hamauzu, Jonne Valtonen and Roger Wanamo. First performed in May 2013, Final Symphony has enjoyed sell-out success in Germany, United Kingdom, Japan, Denmark, Sweden and Finland, featuring the virtuoso talents of some of the world’s leading orchestras and soloists.

Boecker promises “this album will showcase video game music at its very highest quality” and notes he “can’t wait to share it with the world.” UK radio station Classic FM, the biggest classical music radio station in the world, will exclusively broadcast part of the Final Symphony recording as a world-premiere before the album’s launch next year. Earlier this year, the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra published footage of their performance of the Final Fantasy VI symphonic poem “Born with the Gift of Magic”. For more information on what to expect, check our review of the concert premiere here.

Posted on December 13, 2014 by Chris Greening. Last modified on December 13, 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I've contributed to websites related to game audio since 2002. In this time, I've reviewed over a thousand albums and interviewed hundreds of musicians across the world. As the founder and webmaster of VGMO -Video Game Music Online-, I hope to create a cutting-edge, journalistic resource for all those soundtrack enthusiasts out there. In the process, I would love to further cultivate my passion for music, writing, and generally building things. Please enjoy the site and don't hesitate to say hello!

3 Responses to Final Symphony digital album being recorded with London Symphony

  1. I was hoping for a Blu-ray of the full RSPO performance, but I am happy with this too! Glad to hear that they are also doing a physical version. I hope it doesn’t take too long for that to happen. (I would also love an Symphonic Fantasies Tokyo reprint; I had been putting it off to get it together with Final Symphony…)

  2. Josh Barron says:

    I am very excited about this news! This one will probably be the single most important release of the year as not only will the arrangements be great but also that this is quite the achievement for game music. I am glad this will be an early 2015 release and hopefully not long of a wait :).

  3. Oliver Jia says:

    So hyped for this one! Recording at Abbey Road Studios in it and of itself is a huge achievement for the video game music industry. It truly shows how far it’s come as a medium.

    If the other Symphonic albums are any indication, I think we have another masterpiece on our hands!

Back to Top ↑
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Recommended Sites

  • Join Our Community

    Like on FacebookFollow on TwitterSubscribe on RSS

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :